Deepam Exams

Deepam exams will be conducted from time to time depending of the progress of students in each batch. We highly recommend appearing for these exams to enhance your understanding of Odissi but we leave it upto the students to decide whether they wish to appear for the exams or not.

Deepam Exams give be conducted in levels. The levels are not annual exams. A dancer can take lesser or longer than a year to move from one level to the other depending on their personal progress and effort.

  • Basic measurements of Chauka and Tribhangi
  • Identification of Ashamyukta Hasta Mudra (All 28 single hand gestures)
  • Meaning of Shira, Griva, Pada & Drishri Bheda
  • Meaning of Bhramari, Chari and Utplabna

  • Chauka steps 1-5
  • Tribhangi Steps 1-5
  • Bhumi Pranam
  • Recitation of shloka – Namaskariya and Guru Pranam
  • Identification of Foot positions
  • Identification of 6 Angas and 6 Pratyangas
  • Recitation of Ek Taal with hand gestures
  • Demonstration of Asamyukta Hasta (All 28 Single hand gestures)
  • Names of different torso positions
  • Name and Origin of all Indian Classical dance forms
  • Chauka steps 1-10 (all 3 Speeds)
  • Tribhangi Steps 1-10 (All 3 Speeds)
  • Demonstration of Bhramari and Charis
  • Recitation of shloka – Yatho Hasta
  • Sound and Non-sound exercises
  • Demonstration of Shiro Bheda and Griva Bheda
  • Demonstration of foot positions

Knowledge of 3 schools of Odissi (Mahari, Narthaki and Gotipua)

Recitation of Ek Taal and Rupak taal with hand gestures

Identification of Samyukta Hasta (All 26 Single hand gestures)

Names of 4 categories of Mudras in Odissi

Abhinaya and its various forms

  • Demonstration of Drishti Bheda
  • Recitation of Bhumi pranam and Trikhandi Pranam (Mangalacharan)
  • Mangalacharan Entry
  • Demonstration of foot positions
  • Knowledge of Odissi Repertoire
  • Difference between Taal, Laya, Avataran
  • Demonstration of Samyukta Hasta (All 26 Single hand gestures)
  • Difference and meaning of Lasya and Tandava
  • Recitation of Tripata, Khamta and Jampa Taal
  • Demonstration of Bhumi Pranam, Trikhandi Pranam and taal part of Mangalacharan
  • Demonstration of body stances:
  1. Samabhanga, Abhanga, Tribhanga and Atibhanga
  2. Chauka, Swastika, Kumba, Mandala
  • Names and demonstration of Navarasa
  • Detailed knowledge on Natya, Nruta and Nritya
  • Understanding of 6 Anga, 6 Pratyanga along with their Upanga
  • Understanding of Bharatmuni’s Natya Shastra
  • Basic knowledge on Abhinaya Darpana and Abhinaya Chandrika
  • Mangalacharan Complete
  • Botu
  • Demonstration of Drishti Bheda with Bhaav